Frijoles

An aquaintance I met at Sandals, gave me some good bean advice. When I miss So Cal I soak up the beans, know what I'm saying?! Here is what De Ce gave me from an email:



"Okay. Beans. I usually soak my pinto beans overnight. Just rinse any dirt or rocks out and let them soak in enough water to cover them and a couple inches more because they will swell. I usually cook 8-9 cups of beans for my tribe. You can probably cook half that and have leftovers. Which is good for tostadas, bean cheese burritos, stuff like that. Hey, do they have tortillas in Finland?

When you are ready to cook them, rinse and drain the beans again and add fresh water. Put the flame on medium. They should be on a gentle simmer. If they are on too high all the water will burn off. You can add a jalapeno to the water and that gives the beans a little kick. Not too hot because all my kids eat it and aren't bothered by it. You know what I put in my beans to give them flavor? It sounds gross but...bacon lard. Yep, the grease that is leftover after you have cooked bacon. That is good stuff. I usually save it in my fridge and just spoon it out when I make beans. Just a couple of tablespoons should do the trick. I put that in after the beans are starting to cook and get soft. When the beans are to your desired softness, season with a little bit on salt (the bacon grease will make it salty so go easy on the salt). A piece of hamhock will also flavor the beans. If I don't have bacon grease, I will fry a couple of bacon slices and throw it all in the beans. If you like the beans whole, you can eat them like that. Or you can mash them up and eat them like that. Add some shredded cheddar cheese and you are good to go. Its easy! My sister in law is a white girl and she has mastered the beans!"



To answer you question, yes we can get tortillas in Finland!

Comments

pearmama said…
Beans are so good! I am proud to be called a beaner! Glad the recipe has been put to good use. Now you have to master the homemade tortillas!

Popular Posts