Gas Price in Finland
My dad brought to my attention a good point:
"I suggested to some friends that we should have a $1 a gallon increase in the gasoline tax while gas is "cheap", about $1.70 a gallon. They all get very upset at the prospect of everything changing because "we have to have our oil!" Ironically, these are the same people who argue for a freemarket / capitalistic society, and the oil is NOT theirs.
Last week the Federal government said it may increase gas tax by 10 cents a gallon to help pay for infrastructure (roads, bridges and stuff) since they they are not getting enoungh tax revenue because gas is cheap and people are not driving as much (I know, it makes my brain hurt too). Thing is that 10 cents a gallon will mean about $39,000,000 (that's $39 Million) A DAY in increased revenue because we use an average of 390,000,000 gallons of gas A DAY in the U.S. "
Last week the Federal government said it may increase gas tax by 10 cents a gallon to help pay for infrastructure (roads, bridges and stuff) since they they are not getting enoungh tax revenue because gas is cheap and people are not driving as much (I know, it makes my brain hurt too). Thing is that 10 cents a gallon will mean about $39,000,000 (that's $39 Million) A DAY in increased revenue because we use an average of 390,000,000 gallons of gas A DAY in the U.S. "
So...
We drove by a benzoil station.
1.19 per Liter
"Hey that it great!"
No it's not. Do your math Heidi.
Our car holds up to 50 litres of gas. Fill the tank and pay:
59.50 Euros = $75.64
Funny thing is. No one over here is complaining about gas prices.
Why do you think so?
Comments